2019 Maggie Awards of Excellence

Questions? Contact Us:

Unpublished Maggies: Closed

Published Maggies: Closed

Georgia Romance Writers was founded by a group of women who never let doubt stop them from following their dreams. If they had an idea, they went for it. The Maggie Awards was one such idea in 1983, and has become a time honored tradition. The Maggie Award, so named for our signature magnolia, is highly-regarded in the romance writing community. It is a name publishers recognize.

For our Published Authors, we are one of the few contests to offer judges made up of booksellers, librarians, and industry professionals—true fans of books and the romance genre. These are the people who make a living putting books they love into reader’s hands and we, in turn, put your books in theirs.

For our Unpublished Authors, the first 10,000 words of your manuscript are judged and critiqued by three (3) published authors. These are people who know the business and will help share their wisdom to put toward your own work. The top five entries of each category go on to an editor for your genre who picks the winners.

For 2019, we are launching the Mentee Magnolia Program for selected unpublished Maggie winners!  Now, the Maggie Awards provides mentors that help winners get one step closer to landing that editor or agent!

The prize for both the Published and Unpublished Maggies is the sterling silver Maggie Medallion, an award highly recognized and sought after by many an author.


GRW Member: $30

RWA Member: $35

Non-Member: $40

P.O. Box 1484
Buford, GA 30515
GRW's DMCA statement
Monthly Program Information
Hyatt Place Atlanta/ Norcross/ Peachtree
5600 Peachtree Pkwy
Peachtree Corners, GA 30092
Phone: (770) 416-7655

© 2019 Maintained by Brenda Willis