top of page

2023 Prepublished Maggie Award


The purpose of the Prepublished Maggie Award for Excellence is to encourage, recognize, and reward the mastery of romance writing by Prepublished authors of romantic fiction. The Maggie Award is a symbol of achievement given by the Georgia Romance Writers (GRW) to bring special attention to these writers. The Maggie Award, a silver medallion commissioned by GRW, receives national attention. All manuscripts will receive two critiques by published authors, and finaling manuscripts will be ranked by agents and editors in the publishing industry.

Important Dates:


The Maggie Award for Excellence for Pre-published writers opens Valentine’s Day, February 14, 2023. Entries must be RECEIVED by April 23, 2023 at 10pm Eastern, and must follow all format requirements listed on the entry form. Finalists will be notified June 26th, 2023, and winners will be announced at the Maggie Award banquet on October 14th, 2023.


GRW Member: $30

Non-Member: $40

  • Payment through Paypal only. No personal checks accepted.

  • Entries, including completed entry form, must be RECEIVED by April 23rd, 10:00 pm, EST AND before your category is full.

  • Those received after that date or received after the category is declared full will be disqualified.

  • Failure to comply with any of the above rules may disqualify the entry and the entry fee will not be refunded.

Final Round Judges

Contemporary Romance (CS)

Meghan Farrell
Tule Publishing

Historical Romance (HR)

Shannon Snow
Creative Media Agency

Women's Fiction w/Romantic Elements (WF)

Laura Kelly

The Wild Rose Press

Romantic Suspense (RS)

Rachel Gilmer

Sourcebooks, Casablanca & Poisoned Pen

Paranormal Romance (PR)

Debra Dixon

Belle Books


Inspirational Romance (IR)

Katie Gowrie


Young/New Adult

Stacy Cantor Abrams
Entangled Publishing

bottom of page